Kabza De Small X DJ Maphorisa – In Session (Mix)

Kabza De Small & DJ Maphorisa – In Session MP3 DOWNLOAD.

South African music Producers, Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa have made Amapiano great again with their new mix “In Session”.

Pioneering duo Scorpion Kings share a flawless mix of Amapiano, the South African sound that’s taken off as an international phenomenon.

RELATED: Kabza De Small X DJ Maphorisa – Phakamisele ft. Boohle

Ancient archeological studies have found evidence of a King Scorpion: not the mythological human-beast-and-dodgy-CGI-hybrid Hollywood created, but a ruler who united the divided kingdoms of ancient Egypt and helped found a formidable legacy that stretched on for millennia. More recently across the other end of the continent, the South African duo Scorpion Kings are building their own unifying legacy fuelled by the power of music.

The joining of forces of DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small was always going to be next level. Each artist has risen up as a pioneer in South Africa’s booming dance music scene, working across styles developed in the country such as Kwaito, gqom, and most recently – and most successfully – Amapiano, the musical movement that was born in townships and is now taking off as an international phenomenon.

DJ Maphorisa, the older of the two at 33, has been topping charts since the release of 2013 single ‘Y-Tjukutja’, as a member of Uhuru, and has co-production credits on hits like Drake’s ‘One Dance’ and Major Lazer’s ‘Particula’ to his name. 28-year-old Kabza De Small released his debut album ‘Avenue Sounds’ in 2016 and since then grown from strength to strength: his 2020 album ‘I am The King of Amapiano: Sweet and Dust’ is heralded as a contemporary classic, gaining eight million streams in its opening fortnight on Apple Music alone, making it the most streamed South African album in history according to the platform.

Both artists have played a pivotal role in popularising Amapiano, and since uniting as Scorpion Kings in 2019, they’ve become global figureheads of the sound. Three chart-topping albums arrived in their first two years together: ‘Scorpion Kings’ and ‘Return of Scorpion Kings’ in 2019, and ‘Scorpion Kings Live’ last year. For their newest album ‘Rumble In The Jungle’, the duo linked up with SAMA-winning Afropop star TRESOR for 14 tracks of nonstop Amapiano anthems.

The cover art, designed by Beyoncé collaborator Hedi Xandt, depicts the three artists as the divine trinity Memnon, a mythologised African king who battled Achilles at the gates of Troy and was known as the father of Thor, the Norse God of Thunder, and the true identity of the Egyptian Pharaoh Amenophis, who ruled the united kingdoms of Upper and Lower Egypt two thousand years on from King Scorpion’s theorised reign.

Scorpion Kings are flying the flag for unity in Africa and the music industry. ‘Rumble in the Jungle’ combines sounds and languages from across the continent, with TRESOR describing it as “a bold statement of pride in the diversity of our culture as Africans, embracing the rich musical landscape of our home.” And they also preach the importance of artistic independence and empowerment through collective unity, owning all of their masters, and encouraging their peers to maintain control of their music.

To mark the release of ‘Rumble In The Jungle’, we spoke to DJ Maphorisa about the rise of Amapiano and staying independent, and Scorpion Kings made a flawless mix showcasing the Amapiano sound. Read more on Mix Mag

Listen and Download




00:00​ – Gumbaya (Kelvin Momo’s Soulful Piano Remix) – Kelvin Momo

06:51​ – LiYoshona (Main Mix) – Kwiish SA ft Njelic, MalumNator & De Mthuda

17:44​ – Superman – DJ Stokie ft Kabza De Small, Masterpiece YVK & Madumane

21:43​ – Vula Mlomo – Musa Keys ft Sir Trill & Nobantu Vilakazi

28:00​ – Folasade – Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa &TRESOR

34:36​ – Rabaki – Semi Tee & Mdu aka TRP ft Kopzz Avenue & Mogomotsi Chosen

40:00​ – Khuza Gogo – DBN Gogo, Blaqnik & MasterBlaq ft Mpura, Ama Avenger & M.J

45:10​ – Ngwana Mani – Felo Le Tee ft Madumane, Mpura, Kabza De Small & Visca

50:17​ – Catalia – Junior De Rocka & Lady Du ft Mr JazziQ, Mellow & Sleazy

55:10​ – Umsebenzi Wethu – Busta 929 & Mpura ft Zuma, Mr JazziQ, Lady Du & Reece Madlisa